How Blocking Works
Last updated: 2021-09-16
Blocking is a feature that helps you control how you interact with other users and how other users interact with you.
Some important things to know about block:
- Accounts you have blocked cannot follow you and you cannot follow an account you have blocked.
- Blocking an account you are currently following will cause you to unfollow that account and them to unfollow you. Posts will be removed from each other's timelines.
- Blocked accounts do not receive a notification alerting them that their account has been blocked. However, if a blocked account visits the profile of an account that has blocked them, they may see they have been blocked.
- If you block an account and they choose to report your account, any of your Posts that directly mention them may be available for them to view and attach during the reporting process.
- You will not receive notifications from accounts you block. You may, however, see notifications from accounts you follow when they mention you in a thread started by an account you block.
Blocked accounts cannot:
- Follow you
- View your Posts when logged in (unless they report you, and your Post mention them)
- Find your Posts in search when logged in
- Send you Direct Messages
- View who you are following, who is following you or posts you have liked when logged in.
Unblocking a user reverts the relationship status back to neutral. If there was a following relationship before then this is not automatically reinstated.
- Does not automatically reinstate any following linkage if prior to the block you were following each other.
- Does not automatically reinstate and posts on either feed if they existed before